Sam’s Top 50 Favorite Albums of the 2000s (Part 3)

Make sure to read Part 1 and Part 2.

30. Merriweather Post Pavilion – Animal Collective (2009)

Animal Collective already made it on the list with Feels, but I’m going to make the obvious choice by putting Merriweather Post Pavilion up higher. This was the first Animal Collective album I listened to, and to be honest, I didn’t like it at first. I had to work to like this band. I know that sounds like a waste of time, but I knew there was something about them that I liked–I just had to give them multiple chances. The song that really got me into them is not on this album (it was “Peacebone” from Strawberry Jam), but I chose to listen to MPP in its entirety first. This album is strange perfection from start to finish. “In the Flowers” is a great introduction, much like opening your eyes at the beginning of an acid trip. But the great thing about this album is that there are so many fun tracks. If you don’t like the full-on weirdness of “Bluish” or “Guys Eyes,” you can still probably get into more accessible, fun songs like “Summertime Clothes” and “Brother Sport.” A nice mix between strange and danceable, Merriweather Post Pavilion is still one of the most fascinating albums I’ve come across.

29. Soviet Kitsch – Regina Spektor (2004)

To this day, I can’t listen to the first track of Soviet Kitsch without sobbing. An album that starts off like that shouldn’t be one of my favorites, but I think experiencing that strong of an emotion right off the bat is a good sign. The song is “Ode to Divorce” and I’m actually getting a little misty-eyed just thinking about it. I’m not sure if it’s the actual lyrics or the way Regina sings them, but this song just makes my chest tighten. The rest of Soviet Kitsch isn’t as depressing. The most successful single from this album is a gorgeous track you may remember called “Us.” That song alone made me fall in love with Regina Spektor. The other songs on Soviet Kitsch are just as beautiful, allowing Regina to show off her spectacular vocal range. And wow, does she have a killer voice. Check out her vocals on “The Flowers.” She can sing circles around most female performers. Her other albums just prove this point further (especially her first few albums that are unfortunately difficult to find), but Soviet Kitsch was my introduction to her. Bravo, Regina.

28. As Far As the Eye Can See – People In Planes (2006)

Not many people I know are aware of this band and that’s a damn shame. I’m not trying to up my indie cred here or anything–I’m just saying that this band needs some more recognition. People In Planes have only released two albums, but As Far As the Eye Can See is definitely the better of the two. The first song I heard was “Falling By the Wayside,” a track I thought was so deliciously eerie that I had to hear more. The rest of the album has its eerie moments (“Light For the Deadvine,” “Fire”), but for the most part, it has rich, unique sound that just swallows you whole. There’s just something big about this album that feels almost too big for a little indie band from Wales. People In Planes kind of remind me of a much more mysterious version of Muse. But there’s still raw power there, too. Take “Barracuda,” the album’s opening track, for example. It starts everything out with a bang and some heavy guitar riffs. Things gradually slow down as the album progresses, but that doesn’t make any of these songs the least bit boring. There are so many technical nuances in each track.

27. By the Way – Red Hot Chili Peppers (2002)

As far as I’m concerned, Red Hot Chili Peppers could have stopped after By the Way and I would have been perfectly satisfied. I know some people really liked Stadium Arcadium and maybe even I’m With You, but to me, those are both pretty weak albums. By the Way is probably my second favorite RHCP album and it features some of my favorite RHCP songs. “By the Way” is kind of like the trumpet call of opening tracks (on par with Californication‘s “Around the World” in terms of sheer power). But my two favorite songs, “Can’t Stop” and “The Zephyr Song,” perfectly encompass everything I love about this band. “Can’t Stop” brings all the funk of classic Chili Peppers, and “The Zephyr Song” shows the softer side of the band (and proves that Anthony Kiedis has a lovely singing voice). Of course these are just the singles–the rest of By the Way is just as strong. “I Could Die for You” has a similar softness to “The Zephyr Song,” but reminds me more of “Under the Bridge.” “Throw Away Your Television” has some nice bass work and “Venice Queen” features some gorgeous guitar work. While the album as a whole may not be as in-you-face as other RHCP releases, it has controlled beauty. It doesn’t try too hard because it doesn’t need to.

26. The Dresden Dolls – The Dresden Dolls (2003)

A friend of mine back in middle school turned me on to this band. I never thought I was cool enough to be her friend because she had her own style and she really didn’t care what people thought of her. I haven’t spoken to her in years, but I can only assume she’s just as cool as she was when I met her. She made me listen to a lot of different bands, but I liked The Dresden Dolls the most. This particular album has an almost childlike grace to it. Amanda Palmer has this natural gift of being able to make a kind of demure vocal style sound totally sinister. Most songs on this album have this razor sharp edge to them hidden behind twinkling piano chords. It’s more obvious in some songs, like the ultra-creepy “Slide” (which I’m pretty sure is about a child molester, but I could be wrong). But songs like “Missed Me” and “The Perfect Fit” don’t start out as threatening. “Missed Me” in particular builds itself up with sing-song vocals until Amanda just starts shouting the words, “Missed me! Missed me! / Now you’ve gone and done it / Hope you’re happy in the county penitentiary!” Most of the other tracks deal with some pretty dark content, including “Bad Habit,” which address self-harm. But this album is just so gorgeously perverse that I can’t help but sing along to Amanda Palmer’s sugar-coated misery.

25. Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots – The Flaming Lips (2002)

I remember my dad being obsessed with this album (among others on this list), but at the time, I never understood why. I think I was a little too young to appreciate the oddity that is The Flaming Lips. Years later, I heard the song “Do You Realize??” and decided to give this album another shot. Obviously I ended up loving it. “Do You Realize??” is always a highlight, but I’ve also grown to love “Are You a Hypnotist??” and “Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots Part 1.” The album as a whole has a poignant, oddball feel to it–it sounds nostalgic, but at the same time, it’s like nothing you’ve ever heard before. I always feel comfortable when I listen to it, like it’s an old, worn-out couch I can sink into because it smells like home. I don’t think any other Flaming Lips album has made me feel like that, and that’s why this one is so special. Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots may not appeal to everyone, but it hits home for me.

24. Neon Bible – Arcade Fire (2007)

My friend Kenny and I really got into Arcade Fire when they first appeared, but while I loved the hell out of Neon Bible, he always thought it was mediocre (he may have changed his mind recently, though). Granted, nothing will ever match the perfection that is Funeral (at least for me), but I think Neon Bible comes awfully close (much closer than The Suburbs, which, I hate to say, just didn’t do it for me). This album is a bit darker than Funeral, but has that ever deterred me from liking an album? While there are some lighter moments (“Keep the Car Running,” “No Cars Go”), I definitely prefer the more menacing tunes. “Black Wave/Bad Vibrations” is a great example of the album’s tendency to mix the light with the dark. It seamlessly transitions between minor and major chords, then throws the audience for a loop and changes the tempo, too. But the best song on the album (and I hope people agree with me here) is “Intervention.” As soon as you hear that droning church organ at the beginning, you know this song is going to be brilliant. It’s one of the most epic songs I’ve ever heard.

23. Origin of Symmetry – Muse (2001)

When I found this band, I immediately became obsessed. Origin of Symmetry was not the first album I heard, but it ended up becoming my favorite for a while. This is Muse’s second album, and it is beyond better than the first (though I do still enjoy Showbiz). The difference between the two is incredible. This is before Muse started getting a bit too drunk with power–it has a huge sound, but that sound is effortless. I tend to judge albums on their opening tracks, and “New Born” immediately convinced me that this album was a force to be reckoned with. It starts out quiet enough, using a simple guitar pattern to set the mood. But once you’re feeling comfortable, you’re hit with a solid wall of sound hard enough to draw blood. Origin of Symmetry keeps the energy high for the most part, especially on “Hyper Music” and “Plug in Baby,” but the slower songs are just as strong. And when I say “slower” songs, I don’t mean piano ballads–these low-key tracks have quiet intensity. Take “Megalomania” for example. Yes, it’s slow, but it builds to a deafening climax with Matt Bellamy nearly screaming, “Take off your disguise / I know that underneath / It’s me.” Chilling.

22. blink-182 – blink-182 (2003)

A full year before Green Day showed the world its newfound maturity, blink-182 released this shockingly adult album. This was the last band I expected to grow up. They went from songs like “Dick Lips” and “Fuck a Dog” to songs that actually dealt with serious emotions. Though there are moments of maturity in their previous albums (see “Adam’s Song”), blink-182′s self-titled effort just feels so genuine. There’s anger, doubt, and a lot of loneliness in this album. (What is with me and depressing albums?) They even enlisted the help of Mr. Downer himself, Robert Smith (of The Cure), on the track “All of This.” Songs like “Feeling This” and “Obvious” have a lot of rage behind them, but the album definitely has a softer side. “All of This” is gorgeous in its simplicity (and use of Robert Smith’s vocals), and of course I can’t forget about “I Miss You.” I don’t care how many times I hear that song–”I Miss You” will always be one of my favorites.

21. Extraordinary Machine – Fiona Apple (2005)

Ah, Fiona. I am in love with this woman. Everything she does is amazing, and Extraordinary Machine is no exception. This was her first album in six years, but it was worth the wait. Unfortunately, the album leaked before it was complete, resulting in everyone hearing the demo versions of each song instead of the final versions. For the most part, I prefer the final versions. Extraordinary Machine mixes whimsy and contemplation remarkably well. Songs like “Extraordinary Machine,” “Better Version of Me,” and “Waltz (Better Than Fine)” make use of bouncy beats behind Fiona’s poetic confidence. She tries to cheer herself on in these tracks, which makes the album as a whole stand apart from the rest of her work. Extraordinary Machine is probably the happiest album she’s released. But of course there are heavier tunes, like the one that always gets me teary-eyed, “Parting Gift.” This album shows growth and maturity through positivity, proving that Fiona Apple is more than just a “sullen girl.”

2 thoughts on “Sam’s Top 50 Favorite Albums of the 2000s (Part 3)

  1. Pingback: Sam’s Favorite Albums of the 2000s (Part 4) | Culture Vault

  2. Pingback: Sam’s Top 50 Favorite Albums of the 2000s (Part 5) | Culture Vault

Leave a comment